We are committed to supporting the best researchers.

Our expert Research Advisory Committee (RAC) is a panel of leading clinicians and researchers from Australia and abroad. They independently review all grant submissions and score them against our funding priorities and other key criteria.

Their recommendations are handed to The Kids’ Cancer Project Board who determine which studies will be funded. The rules of the peer review process prohibit RAC members from endorsing their own projects.

Associate Professor David Ziegler MBBS UNSW, MD/PhD UNSW, Dip Paed, FRACP (Chair)
Associate Professor Ziegler is a senior Staff Specialist in the Kids Cancer Centre at Sydney Children’s Hospital, Randwick. He is a paediatric oncologist with expertise in neuro-oncology and early phase clinical trials. He has concurrent appointments as Group Leader at the Children’s Cancer Institute, and conjoint Associate Professor at the University of New South Wales.

Professor Jonathan G Izant PhD
Professor Izant has extensive international experience in biomedical research, business and non-profit leadership at Yale School of Medicine, Garvan Institute, QUT, Johnson & Johnson and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. He has helped create biotech, bioinformatics and business development companies, was a member of the NHMRC Human Gene Advisory Panel and has served on numerous government and private research funding committees.

Dr Justine Stehn PhD
Dr Stehn is a Research Strategy Manager for SFI Research. She has over 20 years of field experience in understanding the role of the cell cytoskeleton in disease. She also has more than three years’ industry experience overseeing the clinical development of a novel drug technology for the treatment of adult and childhood cancers.

Dr Andrew Moore MBBS, FRACP, PhD
Dr Moore is Senior Staff Specialist, Paediatric Oncology at Queensland Children’s Hospital where he is also Director, Clinical and Biomedical Research. He specialises in childhood leukaemia, with special interest in acute myeloid leukaemia (AML). Dr Moore is and an academic title holder with The University of Queensland’s Faculty of Medicine and is Director of the Queensland Children's Tumour Bank.

Professor Murray Norris AM BSc ANU, MAppSc NSWIT, PhD UNSW
Professor Norris was one of the first three scientists to staff the Children’s Cancer Institute when its research laboratories opened in 1984. He is Head of the Molecular Diagnostics Program and was appointed Deputy Director of Children’s Cancer Institute in 2000. He is also inaugural Director of the UNSW Centre for Childhood Cancer Research.

Dr Timothy P Cripe MD, PhD
Dr Cripe is a paediatric expert at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. His clinical interests include gene and viral therapies for solid tumours in children, including brain tumours, neuroblastoma, and bone and soft tissue sarcomas. Dr Cripe’s research focuses on developing and testing new, targeted therapies for paediatric solid tumours and translating those findings into clinical studies.

Dr Brenda Weigel MD, MSc
Dr Weigel is Director of the Division of Pediatric Haematology/Oncology at Masonic Cancer Centre, University of Minnesota (U of M). She is a professor cross-appointed at U of M’s Cancer Centre and the Department of Pediatrics, and the recipient of the Lehman/Children’s Cancer Research Fund Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cancer. She is also Chair of Developmental Therapeutics for the Children’s Oncology Group.

The Kids' Cancer Project is an ACNC Registered Charity 
ABN 13 061 138 181 | CFN 10581